Posted on

Try to take this away

When my children were young I would play a game with them; I would put a dollar bill in the palm of my hand and then wrap my fingers around it and I would challenge them to break my grip and if they could, that dollar bill would be theirs. They would try that for hours using every technique that they could imagine. The truth was that my grip was too strong for their little hands and the only way they could get that dollar was if I let them.

 

Jesus played that game too, only with more valuable things than a dollar bill. He puts those who have trusted him, who have believed in him, hopefully you, in the palm of his hand. Here is how we said it in John 10:26 – 30 “My sheep recognize my voice. I know them, and they follow me. I give them real and eternal life. They are protected from the Destroyer for good. No one can steal them from out of my hand. The Father who put them under my care is so much greater than the Destroyer and Thief. No one could ever get them away from him. I and the Father are one heart and mind.”

 

Imagine you living your life in the palm of God’s hand; a place where you are protected, a place where you are safe, a place where you are cared for, a place of real and eternal life. Imagine his grip on you so strong that no matter what Satan might do he cannot snatch the prize away. What a great place to be!

 

Sadly, many of us are not living in the palm of God’s hand. We are not living safe, secure and loved but rather we are living fearful, anxious, scared and condemned. Imagine with me for a moment what a life would look like living in the security of the hand of God, living in a place where we are fully alive and fully protected. Wouldn’t we pray bigger? Wouldn’t we risk more? Wouldn’t we let go of things that we hold onto? Wouldn’t we be more fearless? Wouldn’t life have a different perspective? Wouldn’t we even laugh at the devil for trying to pry us out of the hands of God?

 

That is exactly the place we are put and the place where we live: the palm of the hand of the King of Kings. How foolish it would be to live as a pauper when we have a million dollars in the bank. Haven’t we spent enough time in spiritual poverty and defeat already? The risen Jesus is holding us who have trusted Him. Live from victory, not for victory.

Leave a Reply

